Page 1

World Cup 2010

World Cup Competition is one of the most watched events in the whole planet. World Cup 2010 was the 19th one which has been hosted in South Africa from 11 June to 11 July 2010. South Africa has been selected by FIFA to be the first African county to host World Cup.

World Cup 2010

Ten Stadiums in nine cities hosted the whole tournament matches. The number of the participated teams in World Cup 2010 were thirty two divided into groups. Four teams in each group. The tournament system allows first two teams with highest points in each group to proceed to the next level (knock out rounds). There were few knock out rounds where the winner will proceed to the next round until reaching the final match.

Road To The Finals

The final match was between Spain and Netherlands. The road of both teams to the final were relatively similar. Netherlands finished the group stage on top of its stage with the full points 3 winning matches. Spain collects six points of its three matches and finishes also on top of its group.

Netherlands defeated Slovakia (2-1) in the round of 16 while Spain defeated Portugal (1-0). The quarter finals match of Netherlands were pretty harder when they faced Brazil; the match finished (2-1) while Spain defeated Paraguay in the same round (1-0). In the semi finals Spain won with same result (1-0) against Germany while Netherlands had a big won on Uruguay (3-2).

It was the first time for both teams in the finals of world cup ever. Spain won the match in the extra time with AndrĂ©s Iniesta’s goal in the 116th minute which gives Spain its first world cup title and at the same time it was the first time a European national team won a world cup title outside of Europe.




The end